Digital HELOCs Are Not Interchangeable
The same homeowner with the same property can get materially different results from different HELOC programs — because they use different AVMs, different credit models, different payment structures and different underwriting rules.
Program information last reviewed: August 2026. August 2026 program snapshot. HELOC underwriting guidelines change frequently. Credit-score thresholds, CLTV limits, line amounts, property rules and available terms shown here are educational summaries and may change before you apply. This comparison is not a ranking. No lender is identified as best or preferred. This is not a loan approval, commitment, or a tool for self-underwriting eligibility.
WHY MAX CLTV DOES NOT TELL THE WHOLE STORY
A lender may advertise a maximum of 90% CLTV. But that headline number can be misleading because:
- —Only certain credit scores may reach it
- —The line may be capped at a smaller amount
- —Investment property may have a lower cap
- —A larger loan may have a lower cap
- —A different lien position may change it
- —DTI requirements may tighten at high CLTV
- —An AVM confidence test may reduce it
- —The lender's accepted property value may be lower
Illustrative contrasts across the five programs
Aven
89% exists in specific smaller owner-occupied buckets. Larger lines top out at 85% or lower.
Figure
90% exists in selected owner-occupied lower-line / high-credit combinations. Large lines and investment are more conservative.
NFTYDoor
90% can extend across broader strong-credit primary and investment scenarios — one of the more aggressive current digital options for investment leverage.
REMN HELIX
Generally tops out around 80% primary and 70% investment. Trades CLTV aggressiveness for property flexibility and a longer I/O draw window.
Deephaven
Can reach 90% in qualifying smaller second-lien owner-occupied buckets but not uniformly. Large lines and investment are materially more conservative.
This is precisely why HELOC Shopper compares a real borrower's actual results rather than simply publishing maximum CLTV.
Side-by-Side Comparison
These are not rankings. A program that looks strongest on a chart may not produce the strongest actual result once its AVM, credit model, property rules and income analysis are applied to a specific borrower and property.
| Category | Aven | Figure | NFTYDoor | REMN HELIX | Deephaven |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Credit & Qualification | |||||
| Approx. min credit (owner-occupied) | ~620 | ~640 | ~600 | ~600 | ~660-680 |
| Approx. min credit (non-owner) | ~680 | ~680 | ~640 (channel-dependent) | ~700 | ~660-680 |
| Credit bureau / model | Experian FICO 9 / VantageScore 4 | Experian FICO 9 | Experian FICO 8 | Equifax FICO 8 | Not disclosed as single bureau |
| Co-borrower credit treatment | Both borrowers have explicit minimums | Primary applicant generally used | Primary/highest-income earner score used | Primary wage earner score used | Not specified as primary-earner model |
| Max DTI (general) | 50% (55% in some small-line buckets) | ~50% (45% in some high-CLTV) | 50% (680+) / 45% (600-679) | 50% (680+) / 45% (600-679) | 50% (up to $500k) / 43% (above $500k) |
| Max CLTV by Occupancy | |||||
| Owner-occupied headline max | 89% (small-line, 700+) | 90% (small-line, 720+) | 90% (720+) | 80% (720+) | 90% (2nd-lien, 720+, up to $500k) |
| Owner-occupied typical strong-credit | 85% (740+, up to $400k) | 85-90% (740+, up to $250k) | 90% (720+) | 80% (720+) | 80% (1st-lien, 740+, up to $500k) |
| Second home max | 75% (720+) | Not highlighted | 90% (720+) | 70% (720+) | 85% (2nd-lien, 740+, up to $500k) |
| Investment property max | 75% (720+) | 80% (1st-lien, 680+) | 90% (720+) | 70% (720+) | 75% (2nd-lien, 740+, up to $500k) |
| Line Size | |||||
| Minimum line | $5,000 | $25,000 | ~$25,000 | $25,000 | $50,000 |
| Maximum line | $1,000,000 | $750,000 | ~$750,000 | $750,000 | $1,000,000 |
| Lien Position | |||||
| First lien | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Second lien | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Third lien | No | Yes (owner-occ, ~680+, ~70% CLTV) | No | No | No |
| Payment Structure | |||||
| Payment type during draw | Fully amortizing (P+I from day 1) | Fully amortizing (P+I from day 1) | Interest-only during 3-yr draw | Interest-only during 5-yr draw | Interest-only during 5-yr draw |
| Rate type | Fixed | Fixed and variable available | Variable | Variable (Prime + margin) | Variable (Prime + margin) |
| Draw period | 5 years | 3-5 years (by term) | 3 years | 5 years | 5 years |
| Repayment after draw | Remaining term amortizes | Remaining term amortizes | 17 years (12 in TN) | 25 years (10 in TN) | 25 years |
| Initial draw required | 100% | 100% | 75% of line | 75% of line | 80% of line (min $50k) |
| Valuation | |||||
| AVM threshold | AVM through ~$400k; appraisal above | AVM through ~$400k; appraisal above | AVM through ~$500k; appraisal above | AVM through ~$500k; appraisal above | AVM through ~$400k; appraisal above |
| Property & Title | |||||
| Investment property | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes (700+ min) | Yes |
| LLC / entity vesting | No | Potentially yes (non-primary, subject to requirements) | No currently | No | Yes (eligible investment property) |
| 2-4 unit | Yes | Yes (more conservative) | Yes | Yes (640+ credit) | Yes |
| Non-warrantable condo | No (high-rise generally ineligible) | Not highlighted | Not highlighted | Yes | Yes (~75% max) |
| Acreage / rural | Not highlighted | Generally up to 20 acres | Not highlighted | No general cap (TX exception) | Yes (up to 10 acres, 720+, primary only, up to $500k) |
| Income | |||||
| Self-employed / bank statements | Linked accounts; not a dedicated bank-statement program | Automated business-bank analysis (680+) | Linked business-bank (~35% expense factor, ~680+) | Linked business-bank (similar approach) | 12-month personal or business bank statements |
| DSCR | No | No | No | No | Yes (~1.10x minimum) |
| Asset utilization | No | Yes (eligible accounts) | No | No | Yes (primary, ~10% CLTV reduction) |
| Debt payoff feature | Yes (eligible debts) | Yes (IntelliDebt) | No | No | No |
| Seasoning & Other | |||||
| Ownership seasoning | 90 days (owner-occ); 12 months (non-owner) | ~90 days | Not highlighted as a major restriction | Minimal — essentially 1 day in ordinary circumstances | Primary: none absolute (10% CLTV reduction if under 6 mo); 2nd/investment: 6 months |
| Listed-for-sale restriction | Not highlighted | TN currently problematic | Not highlighted | 60 days in TN and TX | 6 months |
Worth Comparing When…
Each program has scenarios where it becomes particularly relevant to compare. These are not endorsements — they are starting points for a real comparison.
Aven
- —Small line amounts ($5k to $25k)
- —Fixed amortizing payment preferred
- —Owner-occupied, strong credit, high CLTV on smaller line
- —Direct debt payoff may help qualification
Figure
- —Highly automated application preferred
- —Long amortizing term (up to 30 years)
- —Third-lien structure needed
- —Asset-based or business-bank income
- —Debt payoff (IntelliDebt) may help
NFTYDoor
- —Maximizing CLTV on investment property
- —Co-borrower has weaker credit than primary earner
- —Self-employed with business-bank income
- —Future job offer within approximately 90 days
REMN HELIX
- —True 5-year interest-only revolving draw
- —Non-warrantable condo
- —Unusual acreage (no general cap)
- —Very recent ownership (minimal seasoning)
Deephaven
- —Income is the challenge (bank statements, DSCR, asset utilization)
- —Investment property held in LLC
- —Self-employed with 12-month bank statements
- —DSCR qualification needed
Compare What These Programs Actually Do With Your Property
Send Morgan Hardy the basics once. He'll determine which programs are relevant and help you compare the actual initial prequalification and valuation results.
Morgan Hardy · NMLS #1906208 · Foundation Mortgage